They said that I filled out an entry form at a mall. It was actually my brother’s email they had. How can I know if this is a scam or if it’s real? They said if I called them back right away, I would be able to get free tickets to a ball game. Is there a way I can verify a 1-800 number online? I tried reverse lookup, but nothing came up.
They said their company was World Market by Wyndam. How can I check to see if this is for real?
Thanks for all the answers!!!
The person on the phone originally wanted to send me an email, but I told him I’d rather have it sent to me by mail, so that’s that.
I called the 1800 555 number and the number was not listed.
They did tell me on the phone that World Market by Wyndham was Wyndham hotels.
Yeah, I did type in World market by wyndam, or something similar, on either yahoo or google or both, but I was already told on the phone about wyndam.com. That actually is a real website.
Actually, on the phone I was told that it would take about 90 minutes which is the same time as the hour and a half you mentioned!
I was thinking of the BBB, if not the BBB, Some company..
I think I sort of know what a time share is, but yeah.
Sorry, I know I didn’t answer everyone.
Okay, don’t know if I really Am sorry, so…that may have been a lie. Just don’t feel the sorryness in my heart. But I know I didn’t answer everyone.
I meant to write about the timeshare because I’m not THAT sure what it is. Then again, I can always look on wikipedia.
March 12th, 2009 at 3:51 pm
I’m not sure, other than googling it.
Whatever you do, DO NOT give them any financial info, such as a credit card number or bank number. Give them your address to verify it, since that won’t hurt anything, but THAT’S IT. Let them send you written notice. If they are legit, they won’t have a problem with that.
March 13th, 2009 at 3:15 pm
You’re not really this much of a sucker, are you???
Some people……
March 16th, 2009 at 1:06 pm
You can call them safely if you just do not give them any personal info such as a SS#, credit ard number, or bank account.
I am sure there is a catch
March 16th, 2009 at 8:20 pm
It’s a scam. They snagged your email from somewhere in cyberspace and you fell for it. They will ask you for money to get the tickets and you will have to put in more and more money until you just give up. Good luck to you! Try typing in the beginning of the email or the names they gave you. These scammers tend to not be so smart and others that got burned tend to post stuff to warn others.
March 17th, 2009 at 4:31 am
they are going to try to sell you a timeshare or something.. and after you pay the taxes and handling etc.. you’re prizes won’t be so free. Hey I just won the Australian International lottery!!!! Later suckers!!!
March 20th, 2009 at 4:11 pm
1800 555 1212 is the toll free index but if somone calls you trying to get info never give it to them
March 20th, 2009 at 7:36 pm
World Market by Wyndham is actually Wyndham Hotels.
They offer you free tickets so you come to Vegas and stay in their hotel and gamble in their casino.
March 20th, 2009 at 10:10 pm
Hang up. Dont fall into those kind of scam. One way or another you will have to pay them. No such thing as World Market by Wyndam on google either.
Need money for bills? go to myprivatedorm.com
March 23rd, 2009 at 11:20 am
There is NEVER a free trip. It is typically a telemarketing scheme. As much as you want to go to Vegas, you won’t be going this time. If you are curious, call the 1 -800 number and see what happens. If they say Thank you for calling….., you know its a scam.
March 26th, 2009 at 8:55 am
I got a similar call. If it’s the same people, they want you to go to the Travel Agency Place listen to them try to sell you a time share in a condo. They tell you that you won the trip but then you find out there are several different prizes you won’t know what you really won until after the talk.
March 28th, 2009 at 3:57 am
I filled out one of those forms and got the same call. it’s no joke you do have 2 free tickets to las vegas but you have to sit through there programs which take about an hour an a half. they try to sell timeshare accounts to you, all you have to say is no stand your ground dont buy it and for your time they gift you the tickets
March 28th, 2009 at 6:32 am
1. You should contact the local BBB to find out about the company.
2. If it is legitimate, you should not have to pay anything to get your tickets.
3. If the tickets are free, but you have to stay at a certain hotel for a few night, then you better find out how much the hotel room is going to cost you. It could cost you a lot more than the tickets themselves. And most likely, it is a scam.
4. Make sure you do not give them your credit card numbers. It could be a big trouble if you do.